helpline numbers


Response Force

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

The NDRF was constituted under Section 44 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 for a specialized response to natural and man-made disasters. At present, NDRF comprise of 12 battalions, with each battalion consisting 1149 personnel. All the 12 battalions are located in Assam, West Bengal, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh and Arunachal Pradesh. These battalions have been trained and equipped to response to all man-made and natural disasters. 

For more information, please click here.

State Disaster Response Force (SDRF)

As per Section 3.4.5 of National Policy on Disaster Management 2009, the State Governments are required to raise their own SDRF for quickly responding to disasters.

As per information available, 24 State/UTs have raised their SDRF. These SDRF are placed strategically at suitable locations well connected to the airport, rail heads and roads for their immediate deployment at the disaster sites.

The SDRF are also be used for Community Capacity Building and Awareness Generation programmes within the State. During these programmes, SDRF can familiarize themselves with terrain, critical buildings and other existing infrastructure for prompt responses at the time of disasters and simultaneously work with the community, including school children, village volunteers and other stakeholders on what to do during disasters. For more information, please click here.