helpline numbers


GoI-UNDP Project

Ministry of Home Affairs in collaboration with the United Nations Development Programme(UNDP) has been empowering communities since 2002 to manage disaster risk in rural and urban areas. With UNDPs support, pilot interventions with communities across India have been successful in strengthening community based preparedness to tackle disasters. Until 2009, the programme contributed towards the reduction of vulnerabilities. of the communities at risk in 176 multi-hazard prone districts across 17 states of India. This was also recognized as Asia’s largest community-based DRM initiative. 

The GoI-UNDP DRM Program was followed by a Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Programme (2009-2013), implemented in 26 states, 78 districts, and 56 cities, which aimed to strengthen the state and district disaster management authorities and city administrations to undertake DRR activities as outlined in the National Disaster Management Act, 2005.

Subsequent to this, the GoI-UNDP Programme for “Enhancing Institutional and Community Resilience to Disasters and Climate Change (2013-2017)” was implemented to provide technical support to strengthen capacities of government, communities and institutions to fast-track implementation of the planning frameworks on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) and Climate Change Adaptation (CCA). The project was implemented in 10 states, across the country with an outlay of $ 6.235 million.  

This framework collaboration incorporated the MHA-USAID and UNDP Partnership Project on ‘Climate Risk Management in Urban Areas through disaster preparedness and mitigation’. The first phase of the USAID funded component covered a four year period of 2012-2016 and covered 8 urban areas viz. Bhubaneswar, Gangtok, Madurai, Navi Mumbai, Shimla, Trivandrum, Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam. The second phase of the collaboration titled “Developing Resilience Cities through Risk Reduction to Disasters and Climate Change” initiated in 2016 will conclude in 2020 and is being implemented in six cities viz. Navi Mumbai, Shimla, Vijayawada, Vishakhapatnam, Cuttack and Shilong.