helpline numbers


Secretariat Support

The Disaster Management Division also functions as the Secretariat of the National Executive Committee (NEC), High-Level Committee (HLC) and National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR).

The NEC was constituted in pursuance with Section 8 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 . The NEC is mandated to act as a monitoring and coordinating body for disaster management. It is chaired by the Union Home Secretary and comprises of Secretary level officers from other ministries and organizations. For more information on NEC please click here.

The HLC was constituted to approve financial assistance to disaster affected States from the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF). It comprises of the Union Home Minister, Union Finance Minister, Union Agriculture Minister and Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog (earlier Planning Commission).

In order to embrace 'all of society' approach, a multi-stakeholder National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR) has been constituted under the chairpersonship of Union Home Minister in 2013. The aim of NPDRR is to help the Central government adopt policies for effective disaster management in consultation with all stakeholder. The Second meeting of the NPDRR was held in May 2017. For more information on NPDRR, please click here