helpline numbers


Awards and Medals

Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabhandhan Puraskar Award

With a view to recognize the contribution and selfless service of individual and institutions in the field of Disaster Management, Government has instituted an annual award titled “Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar”. The award will be announced every year on 23rd January on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose.

All Indian Citizens and organizations, who have excelled in areas of Disaster Management; like Prevention, Mitigation, Preparedness, Rescue, Response, Relief, Rehabilitation, Research/ Innovations or Early Warning are eligible for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar. The last date for filling up application for the Award for each year shall be 30th September.

For more details click here

To apply for Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puruskar Award click here

The year-wise details of Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Award are as given below:


1 2019   8th Bn National Disaster Response Force, Ghaziabad
2 2020 Shri Kumar Munnan Singh Disaster Mitigation & Management Centre, Uttarakhand
3 2021 Dr. Rajendra Kumar Bhandari Sustainable Environment and Ecological Development Society (SEEDS)
4 2022 Prof. Vinod Sharma Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management


Each year, the Central Government recognizes the distinguished services of the Fire Services, Home Guards and Civil Defence personnel by conferring awards to outstanding personnel.

There are total 08 types of medal for:

Fire Service

Home Guards & Civil Defence

These awards were instituted in 1974 and 1975 through Presidential notifications. These medals are awarded twice every year, i.e. on the Republic Day and Independence Day.


Medal typeCriteria
President Gallantry Medal For highest order of valour, gallantry/bravery
Gallantry Medal For Ordinary act of gallantry
Distinguished Service Medal For distinguished record of service marked by exceptional ability and merit and is generally considered after five years of the award/receipt of meritorious service medals
Meritorious Service Medals For valuable service characterized by devotion to duty, including prolonged unbroken service over 10 to 15 years for regular paid staff and 8 years for volunteers of Civil Defence & Home Guards Organization.


Number of medals :

There is no limit on the number of gallantry medals that can be given during the year. The number of service medals that can be given during the year are as under :-

Type of service medalsHome Guard and Civil DefenceFire Services
  Republic Day ( 26th January) Independence Day ( 15th August) Total Republic Day ( 26th January) Independence Day ( 15th August) Total
25 25 50 13 12 25
50 50 100 50 50 100
75 75 150 63 62 125


Process of Selection:

The recommendations received from the States/UTs/Ministries/Departments are first scrutinized/examined by the Screening Committee under the Chairmanship of the Director General (Fire Service, Civil Defence and Home Guards), Ministry of Home Affairs. In case the number of recommendations received from States/UTs/Central Ministries are more than the total number who can be awarded the medal, then the number of awards given to particular States/UTs/Central Ministries are worked out on the basis of (a) Size of the State (b) Number of Fire Service Personnel (c) Distribution of number of award on pro-rata basis (d) Age, length of service, number of awards/commendation certificate, category, gender ACR grading and overall performance of the candidate. (e) Awards to be equitably distributed amongst various ranks in the officers and staff.

Thereafter, short listed recommendations of the Screening Committee are placed before the Approving Committee, chaired by Secretary/Additional Secretary in charge of Disaster Management in the Ministry of Home Affairs for approval of the President of India through the appropriate channel.

During 2021, 268 medals were awarded to Fire Service, Home Guards & Civil Defence Personnel.

The year-wise details of Medals are as given below: