helpline numbers



As per Second Schedule of Allocation of Business Rules, Ministry of Home Affairs is mandated to look after the matters relating to loss of human life and property due to all natural and man-made calamities, other than drought or epidemics. The Disaster Management (DM) Division is the nodal division in Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) for disaster management. For Allocation of Work within DM Division click here

Government of India enacted the Disaster Management Act 2005, which provided a legal and institutional framework at national, state and district levels for the creation of specialized disasters management institutions.

In pursuance of the Act, the Ministry created national level institutions like National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM), National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) and National Executive Committee (NEC) in 2006.