helpline numbers


Secretariat Support

The Disaster Management Division also functions as the Secretariat of the National Executive Committee (NEC), High-Level Committee (HLC) and National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR).

The NEC was constituted in pursuance with Section 8 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 . The NEC is mandated to act as a monitoring and coordinating body for disaster management. It is chaired by the Union Home Secretary and comprises of Secretary level officers from other ministries and organizations. For more information on NEC please click here.

The HLC was constituted to approve financial assistance to disaster affected States from the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF). It comprises of the Union Home Minister, Union Finance Minister, Union Agriculture Minister and Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog (earlier Planning Commission).

National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR) was constituted by Government of India vide Resolution dated 26th February 2013. The tenure of the platform is upto 2030. It provides a platform for a participatory process of decision making in disaster management with active involvement of the Central & State Governments and stakeholders including people representing different interests in the field of disaster management.