helpline numbers


Awards and Medals

Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabhandhan Puraskar Award

With a view to recognize the contribution and selfless service of individual and institutions in the field of Disaster Management, Government has instituted an annual award titled “Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar”. The award is announced every year on 23rd January on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose.

All Indian Citizens and organizations, who have excelled in areas of Disaster Management; like Prevention, Mitigation, Preparedness, Rescue, Response, Relief, Rehabilitation, Research/ Innovations or Early Warning are eligible for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar. The last date for filling up application for the Award for each year shall be 30th September.

For more details click here

The year-wise details of Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Award are as given below:


1 2019 - 8th Bn National Disaster Response Force, Ghaziabad
2 2020 Shri Kumar Munnan Singh Disaster Mitigation & Management Centre, Uttarakhand
3 2021 Dr. Rajendra Kumar Bhandari Sustainable Environment and Ecological Development Society (SEEDS)
4 2022 Prof. Vinod Sharma Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management
5 2023 -
6 2024 - 60 Parachute Field Hospital, Uttar Pradesh


Each year, the Central Government recognizes the distinguished services of the Fire Services, Home Guards and Civil Defence personnel by conferring awards to outstanding personnel.

There are total 08 types of medal for:

Fire Service

Home Guards & Civil Defence

These awards were instituted in 1974 and 1975 through Presidential notifications. These medals are awarded twice every year, i.e. on the Republic Day and Independence Day.


Medal typeCriteria
President Gallantry Medal For highest order of valour, gallantry/bravery
Gallantry Medal For Ordinary act of gallantry
Distinguished Service Medal For distinguished record of service marked by exceptional ability and merit and is generally considered after five years of the award/receipt of meritorious service medals
Meritorious Service Medals For valuable service characterized by devotion to duty, including prolonged unbroken service over 10 to 15 years for regular paid staff and 8 years for volunteers of Civil Defence & Home Guards Organization.


These medals have been merged with other medals and now conferred under the revised category instituted as 'President's Medal for Gallantary', 'Medal for Gallantary', 'President's Medal for Distinguished Service' and 'Medal for Meritorious Service'.

The year-wise details of Medals are as given below: